"This file is Part11 Enabled." What does this mean and how do I edit the file?
Print Friendly View
written: 03/14/2019
last modified: 03/18/2024

The customer is seeing the "This file is Part11 Enabled. You need to join the P11 group in order to read in data. Your data will not be saved." and wants to know what this means and how they can collect data again.

Answer:

This is the response I sent to a rep (so not aimed directly at the customer):

That message means that someone turned on Part 11 mode (available on the Part 11 tab in the Admin Tool) and opened that .qcc file. Once that happens only another copy of QC-CALC that has Auditing (Part 11 mode) enabled is allowed to edit that .qcc file. This prevents someone from getting around the whole Part 11 system by installing another copy of QC-CALC and NOT joining the Admin User Group that has Part 11 enabled. This Part 11 mode is to help customers (typically medical) that need to make sure no one is changing data values without approval. Here is a link to a video that explains this whole section of our software. This video is a bit old, but we’ve just added new options and updated the screens, the overall operation hasn’t changed.

http://www.prolinksoftware.com/download/article/Part11Video.htm

Is your customer using that mode somewhere in their plant or were they just trying it out and decided they didn't want to use it?

If they are using it somewhere, then it isn't safe to do anything to that file and instead they should attach that copy of QC-CALC to the Admin Tool > User Group that has the Part 11 mode enabled. Once they do that, they would be able to edit a value and they would be challenged for their user name and password and all changes would be logged.

If the Part 11 mode was just something they were trying and they are not actually using it, then that file can be removed from Part 11 mode by going to the File > Modify Database Structure menu. They will be asked for the Admin Password in order to get into that screen and once they are inside it will show a very different screen than normal (as shown below). They should uncheck the Enable Auditing for this file option.

Then they will be asked if they want to back up the part 11 log that was there. I would recommend moving the copy to another folder just in case they find they need it later.

Once they choose something that file will be “fixed” and they should then be able to edit it like normal.

Applies To

Limited Site Lic. - QC-CALC Real-Time v.4.00
LSL Server Lic. - QC-CALC Real-Time v.4.00
QC-CALC Real-Time v.4.10
QC-CALC Real-Time v.3.40
QC-CALC SPC v.4.10
QC-CALC SPC v.3.40
Server Lic. - QC-CALC Real-Time v.4.00
Site License - Data Collection v.4.00
Site License - QC-CALC Real-Time v.4.00
Site License - QC-CALC Real-Time v.3.40

Category

Error Messages
See more articles in this category